Goner Message Board
 | Forums | Register | Reply | Search | Statistics | Manual |
Goner Message Board / Memphis / Hot Stuff...
Posted: Jun 3, 2005 1:34 am

The big, talking, hot-air ballon and the short, stout lady that talked with him back-in-the-day on PBS for kids. I think they were on in Chicago, too.

Anybody remember the theme song?
Posted: Jun 3, 2005 2:51 am

THat was one of my favorite shows cause the music was so weird---The Ballons name was HOT STUFF> THat may have been the name of the show..I think...
Posted: Jun 3, 2005 3:16 am

I have an embarrassing Hot Stuff story.

Hot Stuff haunted my childhood. For years I was under the misconception that the Hot Stuff character was a giant potato. Most Hot Stuff episodes that we remember where reruns from the late-70's. If I'm not mistaken, they were shot in the back of a children's clothing store located in Eastgate Shopping Center.

As I got older, and into my late-teens, and into smoking weed and doing other drugs, I used to tape PBS/Channel 10 daytime educational TV. Marathons of poorly done sub-after-school-special craziness - it was the stuff that ran DURING the school year (summer and holiday programming consisted of Sesame Street and the Electric Co. and such).

This is totally incriminating, but about seven years ago, a close friend (name rhymes with Cave Stunlap) and I ate mushrooms and watched one of these tapes. While an episode of Hot Stuff played, I managed (in a blazing mushroom frenzy) to find the guy that voiced and played Hot Stuff....in the phone book. I called him and held the phone up to the TV....

His first and only reply was, "Ah....I'd say...1978."

Very freaked out, I hung the phone up.
Posted: Jun 3, 2005 3:22 am

To put the "smoking weed/drugs" thing into context, I used to work nights (age 18 - 19), and would come home, get high, and watch whatever was taped earlier in the day. Alone.
Posted: Jun 3, 2005 10:34 am